City City-Local News International News News

Canadian Indigenous leaders honoured in with Freedom of the City

  • May 13, 2024
  • 2 min read
Canadian Indigenous leaders honoured in with Freedom of the City

Three Canadian Indigenous leaders have been awarded the Freedom of the City of London at a ceremony. Chief David Joseph Jimmie of Squila First Nation, Chief Derek Anthony Epp of Tzeachten First Nation, and Chief Donald Maracle of the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte received the award from Lord Mayor Professor Michael Mainelli.

The ceremony followed a Canadian Indigenous Investment Summit at the Mansion House. Its co-chair, Robert James Brant, a descendant of the famous Mohawk leader Chief Joseph Brant, also received the Freedom of the City.

The event showcased investment opportunities in Canada’s energy, natural resources, and infrastructure sectors, presenting an opportunity for investments that contribute to the well-being of Indigenous communities, the preservation of their cultures, and the stewardship of the environment.

The freedom awards were given as part of the Lord Mayor’s ‘Connect to Prosper’ theme, which focuses on the City’s expertise in areas including sustainability, finance, law, art, and engineering, and brings together leading experts from diverse backgrounds to work on critical global challenges, such as climate change and artificial intelligence.

One of the City of London’s ancient traditions, the Freedom is believed to have begun in 1237 and enabled recipients to carry out their trade. As well as being nominated for, or applying for, the Freedom, it is also offered by the City of London Corporation to individuals as a way of paying tribute to their outstanding contribution to London or public life, or to celebrate a very significant achievement.

Recent high-profile recipients include theatre entrepreneurs, Dame Rosemary Squire and Sir Howard Panter; former Managing Director and Chief Privacy Officer at the London Stock Exchange, Vivienne Artz; and Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert, who initiated and led the development of the Oxford-AstraZeneca COVID vaccine.

About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *